At the Orphanage

Every afternoon I volunteer at an orphanage.  Most of these babies were found on the streets, in dumpsters and what not.  Many of them have a host of medical, mental, and developmental disabilities.  Working at the orphanage is quite a challenge for me.  I’m in the baby room.  Babies, with their crying, inability to communicate, their spit up, slobber, poopy diapers, and other odd smells just aren’t my thing.  On top of that, the minute I arrive for work, the staff person leaves and I’m usually all by myself with 8 screaming babies for the next 5 hours.  To feed them I line them all up on a pillow, wrap a blanket around each one, use the blanket to prop their bottles up, then scramble from one to the other making sure everyone is okay while simultaneously trying to feed the babies in my arms who need a bit of extra help.  The babies are so starved for human interaction they are constantly crying.  Yet the minute I pick them up and hold them, they stop.  When I’m not busy feeding, I’m rotating between all the babies trying to get them to calm down.  At times I’ll have two babies in my arms, two on my lap, and rocking one in a rocking chair.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Leave a comment