Miller Meetings

This morning as we headed out to load the trucks for Bulk Distribution runs, my supervisor pulled me aside.
.
“You did good at the Warehouse yesterday, so I need you here now.”
.
Apparently my reward for stepping up at the Warehouse and successfully managing ridiculousness means that I am now stuck in the office instead of going out on Bulk Distribution runs.  Sigh…I’d rather be out in the field working with the people.  Oh well.
.
.
Today my supervisor and I went to an Occupy Sandy meeting and a faith-based community meeting.  There is a rumor going around (particularly among the immigrant and undocumented populations) that one of the local schools is being used as a morgue for unaccounted for storm victims.  Mold is also another huge concern.
.
.
Later on my supervisor and I went to a neighborhood that was heavily damaged by the storm.  We went to one particular house that was badly damaged in the hurricane.  The owners recently returned and, as many residents are doing, started a fire to stay warm.  The house ended up in flames and is a total loss.  My supervisor and I walked up to the second floor of the house to talk to the resident.  I must admit, I was a little nervous that the house would collapse at any minute.
.
.
After that we met the Hurricane Sandy Operations Director for the Red Cross and toured some of the areas that we’ve been working in.  We talked to some residents.  One had applied for FEMA funds but was denied.  Another was an older gentelman who had run out of his much needed medication.  Another was a group of people who had pretty much gone bankrupt feeding others.  Another was a catering business who had also lost significant amounts of money trying to feed the residents.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Leave a comment